Salmon with herb roasted potatoes and mango salsa

I found these cute little potatoes today at the supermarket today and decided I was going to build tonight’s dinner around them.  They’re called Peewee Medley potatoes.  Aren’t they adorable?  They look a lot bigger in the photos than they actually are.  They are probably only a little bigger than cherry tomatoes.

 

 

 

Preparing them was a breeze.  I pierced a few holes  and them tossed them in olive oil. I added salt, black pepper, 2 grated garlic cloves and chopped dill and popped them in the oven to bake for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees.

Next, I prepared some mango salsa by combining the follow ingredients.

Mango Salsa

1 mango (peeled and diced)

1 tomato (diced)

1/2 small white onion (diced)

1/2 green sweet pepper ( diced)

2 tbs parsley (finely chopped)

1 chili pepper ( de-seeded and finely chopped)

1 tbs lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

Finally, the star of tonight’s dinner was lovely fat, juicy salmon fillet.  I seasoned it on both sides with salt and black pepper.  I then pureed some tarragon, dill and parsley in the food processor.  I added about 1 tbs of melted butter to the herb mixture.  I melted some butter in a skillet and seared the salmon for about 2 or 3 minutes flesh side down.  I then flipped it and covered the other side with the herb mixture and popped it into the oven to bake for about 8 minutes.

 

Dinner is served!

Comments

  1. That is gorgeous. I’m having trouble believing how easy it is, when it would impress the heck out of a dinner party. I never feel like there’s enough variety of color on my dinner plate, and this looks like a great fix!

    • Thank you. It really was super easy! And you’re right, it’s perfect for a dinner party. Zero stress and healthy too!

  2. Thanks for the recipe .I will give it a try .

  3. Lovely combination Candi. I could just imagine how that salmon tasted with the mango salsa. 🙂

Leave a Reply

