Cornmeal porridge

Normally, I have a big decadent breakfast on Saturday mornings to make up for the rushed ones during the work week. Today, however, I was feeling for something light but hearty.  I happen to love porridge in any form.  Oatmeal, Cream of Wheat, rice – you name it, I love it! I love porridge more than Goldilocks!  I have a dear colleague from Jamaica who occasionally brings me a steaming bowl of cornmeal porridge whenever she makes a batch.  I figured it was time to whip up my own batch.

What to use

1 cup fine yellow cornmeal

3 cups water

1 cup milk

1/2 tsp nutmeg

2 tbs honey

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 bay leaf

sweetened condensed milk to taste

 

What to do

Whisk the cornmeal in 1 cup water.   Bring remainder of water and milk to boil and add in cornmeal mixture and salt . Stir well.  Add nutmeg, cinnamon, honey, vanilla and bay leaf.  Cook for about 10-12 mins.  Sweeten with condensed milk to taste.  Top with a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Serve hot.

Variations

My mom usually adds two whole cinnamon sticks instead of the ground cinnamon while cooking.

 

Mmmmm…..just right!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. I’m with your mom on the cinnamon sticks. Yum.

Leave a Reply

