Shrimp with Spicy Asian Orange Dipping Sauce

I’m pretty bummed. My brand new camera fell and broke so I’m back to relying on my point and shoot. 😦 I’m not exactly thrilled with my food pics these days.  Hopefully, I can get it repaired soon.

Anyhoo, it’s Sunday afternoon and I was lounging around and feeling peckish.  I was rummaging through the fridge to see what I could rustle up and realized I had some frozen shrimp tucked away.  I decided to whip up this quick snack .

What to use

1 dozen shrimp (peeled with tails on)

1 pinch sea salt

1/2 tsp red chili flakes

2 teaspoons of olive oil

1 tsp lime juice

2 garlic cloves (minced)

3 tbs sweet orange marmalade

1 tsp red chili paste

2 tbs soy sauce

1 tsp ketchup

1/2 tsp sesame oil

pinch of coarse ground black pepper

2 tbs butter

chopped parsley for garnish

What to do

Place shrimp in medium sized bowl and add salt, chili flakes, lime juice, olive oil and garlic. Heat large skillet and add butter. Saute shrimp until slightly browned.

In a small serving dish, combine marmalade, chili paste, soy sauce, ketchup, sesame oil and black pepper and stir well.

Plate shrimp and sprinkle with chili flakes and chopped parsley with dip on the side.

Comments

  1. The photos look just fine. My mouth is watering. Can’t wait to try this.

  2. Thank you! Still getting the hang of food photography!

Leave a Reply

