Marinated seared tuna with wild rice

What a day! I’ve been making a real effort to eat regular, healthier these days but sometimes my work schedule wreaks havoc on my best laid plans.  Like today, all I had for the entire day was an unspectacular breakfast of  two slices of toast, a boiled egg and an apple! The only thing that got me through the day was the thought of this lovely, fat tuna steak that was waiting for me at home!

Beautiful, isn’t it?

I was pretty much ravenous by the time I got home from work so I decided to do a quick marinade and sear the tuna.

What to use

1 fresh tuna steak

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs sesame oil

1 tbs soy sauce

6 tbs white wine vinegar

1/2 lemon

1 tbs chopped cilantro

few sprigs of thyme

ground black pepper

sea salt

What to do

Whisk together olive oil, sesame oil, soy sauce, vinegar, lemon juice, cilantro, thyme, salt and pepper. Marinate tuna in mixture for about 15 minutes. Heat heavy skillet and add a little olive oil. When oil is hot, add tuna and sear for two to three minutes on each side over medium high heat.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and bake tuna for about 10 minutes.  Remove and allow to rest for a few minutes.  I know a lot of people prefer their tuna rare but I like mine medium to well with just a hint of pink on the inside.

Sprinkle steak with a little more sea salt and coarse pepper.

I had my tuna steak on a bed of fresh herb salad with some wild rice that I quickly sauteed in some butter, garlic powder, oregano, parsley, onion powder and finely chopped parsley.

I washed it all down with some fresh watermelon juice. (I blended some fresh watermelon, strained it and added some fresh lemon juice and wedges.)

Not a bad way to end the day!

 

Leave a Reply

