A farmers’ market breakfast

It’s spring time in New York and I’m visiting my lovely aunt who insisted on dragging me to the Farmers’ Market in the pouring rain this morning.  I don’t know what it is about markets and me but every single time I go to a market, no matter where in the world,  it rains. Not a sprinkle or a drizzle but buckets of rain!

Torrential downpour notwithstanding, I had lots of fun going through the fresh produce and sampling the organic, homemade items on offer from goat cheese with cinnamon and dried cranberries, honey, warm apple cider and fresh artisan bread. Yum! Unfortunately, since my camera is not waterproof I couldn’t take any pics!  We picked up some stuff for breakfast and lunch and made our way back through the rain via the park. And wouldn’t you know, as soon as we left the market, the rain eased!

Spring time in New York

For breakfast, I picked up freshly baked foccacia bread, fresh goat cheese, organic tomatoes, basil and oyster mushrooms which I’ve never tried but they looked so pretty,  I couldn’t resist.

Oyster Mushrooms

The oyster mushrooms lived up to their name.  They had a fishy, oyster like aroma and taste. I sauteed them in olive oil with some minced shallots and garlic for a few minutes and added a little kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper and a squeeze of lime juice.

After removing them from the skillet, I lightly seared slices of tomato seasoned with kosher salt and Italian seasoning.  I used up the last juices from the pan by toasting the bread in the skillet.  I then plated everything up topping the tomato slices with goat cheese crumbles and fresh basil. We washed it all down with apple cider with a squeeze of lemon juice.


Leave a Reply

