A roti and a red Solo

Imagine I had to come all the way to Brooklyn to get this classic Trini combo but at last I was able to satisfy my curry craving.  I was a bit skeptical at first when I approached Ali’s Trinidad Roti Shop on Fulton Street.  From the outside, the establishment did not look very promising – a bit dingy and run down.  Desperation and hunger won out though and I ventured inside to surprisingly clean surroundings, warm and welcoming Trini accents and the delicious smell of curry, cumin and ghee.

It wasn’t the best roti I’ve ever eaten but it was huge, the skin was light and fluffy and the chicken was tasty and well seasoned. It was a nice reminder of home and will tide me over until my next trip home.  Forgive the less than stellar pics but I was ravenous after a day of shopping and only remembered to take some snapshots halfway through the meal!

Comments

  1. Hey who makes the soft drink brand Solo? I didn’t know they have that in New York.

  2. A Trini classic for sure

Leave a Reply

